#EmidioSantroni -“Why I Run” – Inspires #CoachJeff:

I am re-blogging a post from one of my running clients (read below) whose story MUST be read to believe. It is a heart-wrenching yet inspirational journey by one determined and focused young man. For anyone facing challenges in life, his is a message worth applying.
Emidio found my generic training plan for the Around The Bay 30 kilometre race on its website in October, 2015. He then contacted me about designing a specific programme to help him complete the Bay race. Keep in mind – he had NEVER run further than 5 kilometres before and was weighing in at 242 pounds when we 1st met in November of 2015. We quickly figured out that Emidio was our daughter Kati’s Grade 11 History teacher at Iona SS in Mississauga, Ontario, Canada. How ironic that Kati’s ‘old man’ would then help guide Emidio to his goal! Over the next 5 months, we met once per month at 5:30 a.m. at the Iona track with the goal of teaching Emidio how to run safely and efficiently as he proceeded to lose 40 pounds and build up to completing the full Bay course as part of his training. I knew nothing of WHY Emidio wanted to run the Bay – other than the desire to “change my life against all odds for the positive”. It was only after he sent the blog featured below that I knew his TRUE reason for wanting to do the Bay race in his hometown.
I have trained 100s of runners, elite athletes and teams BUT I have seldom trained anyone with such determination, internal fortitude and commitment to an end goal. On Sunday, April 3 in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada, I will be at the start line to encourage Emidio. I will also be out on the course to hopefully run a few kilometres with him. I know 2 things for certain…#1 – he WILL finish in under 3:30 and #2 – his young son & family will be cheering him on. Finally, to all of those who said “you’ll NEVER do this, Emidio”, I say “touche! He’ll do it and then some.”

coach Jeff

runfatsorunblog

just run

So Why Do I Run?

A lot of people have asked me this question over the course of these past five months, “So Emidio what possessed you to run a 30km race?”  Really they’re not too far off when they use the word possessed.  Because the last two years of my life I was possessed.  I was possessed by my own personal demons.  This race and this commitment to excellence was a way to exorcise those demons that terrorized me.  What demons you ask?

May 15, 2011 was probably the happiest day of my life (next to my wedding of course).  My first son John Paul was born at a healthy 8 pounds 8 ounces.  The sky was limit that day.  I was already listing off the things that me and my new little buddy and I were going to do such as: fishing, playing soccer, helping him with homework…

View original post 1,577 more words

Leave a Reply

